Cursor AI Statistics: Users, Growth & Funding (2026)

Nishtha chauhan
Nishtha chauhan
|Published on |6 Mins
Cover Image for Cursor AI Statistics: Users, Growth & Funding (2026)

When you need a Cursor statistic for a deck, a budget case, or a market brief, the tempting shortcut is to look for one user number. That shortcut fails here. Cursor and outside sources have reported customers, programmers, paid subscribers, daily active users, enterprise customers, survey adoption, recurring revenue, and annualized revenue—each describing a different population or period.

The short answer: Cursor has disclosed rapid growth and multiple large adoption measures, but it has not published one authoritative global total-user figure. The most defensible Cursor AI statistics keep those measures separate: use paid subscribers for monetization, daily active users for activity, survey results for surveyed developer behavior, and company-reported ARR or annualized revenue as run-rate measures rather than recognized full-year revenue.

Key Cursor AI statistics

  • 40,000+ customers, August 2024: Cursor said it had more than 40,000 customers in its Series A announcement. This is a company-reported customer or account measure, not a count of individual users. Cursor’s Series A announcement

  • Millions of programmers, January 2025: Cursor said millions of programmers used it as their editor of choice, without defining whether that meant unique, active, or paid users. Cursor’s Series B announcement

  • More than $100 million in recurring revenue, January 2025: Cursor reported a recurring-revenue milestone. The disclosure is a company-reported run-rate measure, not audited recognized revenue for a completed fiscal year. Cursor’s Series B announcement

  • More than $500 million ARR, June 2025: Cursor reported annual recurring revenue above $500 million and said it was used by more than half of the Fortune 500. ARR is annual recurring revenue, a run-rate metric. Cursor’s Series C announcement

  • More than $1 billion in annualized revenue, November 2025: Cursor reported crossing that run rate and said millions of developers and engineering organizations were customers. Annualized revenue is not the same as recognized annual revenue. Cursor’s Series D announcement

  • $2.3 billion Series D at a $29.3 billion post-money valuation, November 2025: Cursor announced this completed financing round. Cursor’s Series D announcement

  • 1 million paid subscribers, February 2026: Consumer Tech Wire reported that Anysphere disclosed this paid-subscriber figure and an annualized revenue run rate above $480 million. This is a company claim reported by an intermediary, not a direct Cursor post. Consumer Tech Wire

  • More than $2 billion annualized revenue, reported March 2026: TechCrunch attributed the February 2026 run-rate figure to a Bloomberg source. It is source-based journalism rather than a direct company disclosure. TechCrunch

  • More than 1 million daily active users, 64% of the Fortune 500, and 50,000+ enterprises, reported May 2026: CNBC presented these as Cursor claims in its Disruptor 50 profile. They are company claims, not independently audited measurements in that profile. CNBC

  • 69% awareness and 18% workplace adoption, January 2026 survey: JetBrains surveyed more than 10,000 professional developers worldwide. These are percentages of its survey population, not Cursor’s global user share. JetBrains AI Pulse research

  • 17.9% regular use, 2025 survey: Stack Overflow reported this among respondents answering which development environments and AI-enabled code editors they had used regularly over the previous year. It is respondent prevalence, not market share. Stack Overflow’s 2025 Technology survey

  • 33.1% had used Cursor and 48.5% had heard of it but not used it, 2025 survey: State of AI reported these responses for its IDE and editor survey. The figures describe that survey’s respondents and question wording. State of AI 2025

  • $4 billion annualized revenue estimate, May 2026: Sacra estimates this run rate. It is an analyst estimate, not a Cursor financial disclosure. Sacra

  • SpaceX acquisition completed, August 14, 2026: An SEC filing records that the merger became effective and describes consideration based on an implied $60 billion Cursor equity value. That value is acquisition consideration, not venture funding or revenue. SEC completion filing

Ebook Preview

Get the Mobile Testing Playbook Used by 800+ QA Teams

Discover 50+ battle-tested strategies to catch critical bugs before production and ship 5-star apps faster.

100% Free. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Does Cursor publish a total user count?

No verified company disclosure in this evidence set provides a single, defined global total-user figure for Cursor.

That absence matters because the figures above answer different questions. A customer can be an account or organization. A paid subscriber is a paying user. A daily active user is active on a particular day. An enterprise customer is not necessarily an individual developer. Survey awareness and workplace-adoption percentages describe respondents to a survey, not everyone who uses an AI coding tool.

Cursor’s January 2025 statement that it was used by “millions of programmers” is the broadest company description in the available record. It does not specify an activity threshold, subscription status, or a date-specific total. The later CNBC-reported figure of more than 1 million daily active users is narrower: it describes activity, not everyone who has ever used or paid for Cursor.

So, if you need a concise answer to “How many users does Cursor have?”, the accurate answer is: Cursor has not published a single authoritative global total-user count in the verified sources. Cite the particular measure you mean instead.

Measure

Latest retained figure

Period

Evidence type

What it does—and does not—measure

Customers

40,000+

Aug. 2024

Cursor disclosure

Customers or accounts; not a total individual-user figure

Programmers

Millions

Jan. 2025

Cursor disclosure

Broad company description with no stated activity or payment definition

Paid subscribers

1M

Feb. 2026

Company claim reported by Consumer Tech Wire

Paying subscribers; not total users or daily active users

Daily active users

1M+

Reported May 2026

Cursor claim reported by CNBC

Users active on a day; not total registered users

Enterprise customers

50,000+

Reported May 2026

Cursor claim reported by CNBC

Organizations or enterprise accounts; not individuals

Survey use

17.9%, 18%, or 33.1%

2025–2026

Survey-owner results

Different respondent samples and questions; not global market share

How Cursor’s reported growth changed from 2024 to 2026

Cursor’s published growth milestones are best read as a timeline, not as inputs to a reconstructed revenue total. The measures change across announcements, and the later 2026 figures include journalism and analyst estimates alongside direct company statements.

2024: a disclosed customer milestone

In August 2024, Cursor said it had more than 40,000 customers. That figure establishes a public customer milestone, but it does not reveal how many people used Cursor within those accounts or organizations.

2025: revenue run-rate disclosures accelerate

In January 2025, Cursor paired its “millions of programmers” statement with more than $100 million in recurring revenue. By June, the company reported more than $500 million ARR. In November, it reported more than $1 billion in annualized revenue.

All three are useful signs of growth. None should be rewritten as “Cursor earned that amount in a year.” Recurring revenue, ARR, and annualized revenue describe rates projected from recurring business; the company announcements do not constitute audited, full-year recognized-revenue disclosures.

Period

Reported metric

Figure

Evidence type

Qualification

Jan. 2025

Recurring revenue

$100M+

Cursor disclosure

Run-rate measure, not reported full-year recognized revenue

Jun. 2025

Annual recurring revenue

$500M+

Cursor disclosure

ARR run rate

Nov. 2025

Annualized revenue

$1B+

Cursor disclosure

Annualized run rate

Feb. 2026, reported Mar. 2

Annualized revenue

$2B+

TechCrunch reporting citing Bloomberg

Source-based reporting, not a direct Cursor post

May 2026

Annualized revenue

$4B

Sacra estimate

Third-party analyst estimate, not company disclosure

The apparent mismatch between Consumer Tech Wire’s February 2026 report of a $480 million-plus annualized revenue run rate and the later reported figures should not be “fixed” by combining them. The sources use different dates and evidence types, and the public record does not provide enough underlying detail to reconcile them into a single audited series.

2026: reported activity and enterprise scale

CNBC’s May 2026 profile adds a different set of Cursor-reported operating measures: more than 1 million daily active users, 64% of the Fortune 500, and more than 50,000 enterprises. These are useful descriptors of reported activity and business reach, but they are not substitutes for one another.

For example, the Fortune 500 percentage indicates reported company adoption within that named group. It does not establish a percentage of all enterprises, all developers, or all revenue. The enterprise figure also does not reveal seats per customer, retention, or daily activity.

Cursor funding and valuation history

Cursor’s funding record includes completed rounds, source-based reports, a proposed 2026 financing, and a completed acquisition. Keeping those categories separate prevents a common error: treating a valuation or acquisition value as cash raised.

Date

Event

Amount or valuation

Evidence and interpretation

Oct. 2023

Seed

$8M; $11M total raised reported

TechCrunch reported an $8 million round and said total funding reached $11 million. TechCrunch

Aug. 2024

Series A

More than $60M; $400M post-money

TechCrunch reported the terms from sources familiar with the deal. TechCrunch

Dec. 2024 / Jan. 2025

Series B

$105M announced; $100M and $2.6B post-money reported

Cursor and TechCrunch reported different terms; retain both attributions rather than merge them. Cursor and TechCrunch

Jun. 2025

Series C

$900M; $9.9B valuation

Cursor company announcement. Cursor

Nov. 2025

Series D

$2.3B; $29.3B post-money

Cursor company announcement. Cursor

Apr. 2026

Proposed financing

At least $2B; about $50B pre-money

TechCrunch reported fundraising talks based on four sources. It was not a completed round. TechCrunch

Jun. 16 / Aug. 14, 2026

SpaceX merger

Implied $60B Cursor equity value

SEC records show the agreement and later completion. This was acquisition consideration, not financing. SEC merger agreement and SEC completion filing

The Series B discrepancy deserves to remain visible. Cursor announced a $105 million Series B in January 2025, while TechCrunch’s December 2024 source-based report described $100 million at a $2.6 billion valuation. A statistics page should preserve the source and its wording rather than present a manufactured “corrected” total.

What the 2026 SpaceX transaction changes

The April 2026 report of a possible new financing no longer describes Cursor’s final status in this record. In June, an SEC filing recorded a merger agreement among SpaceX, a SpaceX subsidiary, and Anysphere. The August filing records that the merger became effective on August 14, 2026.

The filing’s implied $60 billion Cursor equity value is relevant to valuation history, but it belongs in an acquisition column—not a funding column. It does not add $60 billion to Cursor’s venture capital raised, and it does not measure company revenue.

This distinction is especially useful when comparing Cursor with other AI developer-tool businesses. Reports about AI testing statistics and adoption may track market behavior across a category, while Cursor’s SEC-recorded transaction describes a specific corporate event with its own consideration terms.

What developer adoption surveys say about Cursor

Independent surveys provide a separate view of Cursor’s reach. They do not count all users, but they show what respondents say they know about or use at work.

JetBrains’ January 2026 AI Pulse survey covered more than 10,000 professional developers worldwide. It found 69% awareness of Cursor and 18% workplace adoption. Its workplace-adoption percentage is the clearest of these measures for the question, “What share of this survey’s professional-developer respondents use Cursor at work?” It is not a census of developers worldwide.

Stack Overflow’s 2025 Technology survey reported 17.9% for Cursor among respondents answering its question about development environments and AI-enabled code editors used regularly over the preceding year. This is a different population, timeframe, and question from JetBrains’ workplace-adoption measure.

State of AI’s 2025 IDE survey reported that 33.1% had used Cursor, while 48.5% had heard of it but had not used it. That distinction is valuable: awareness can be much broader than usage.

Dataku reported Cursor as the tool used by 34% of 200 surveyed developers in March 2025, but explicitly said the sample was not statistically representative. Use it only as a directional small-sample result, not as an estimate of developer-market share. Dataku’s survey write-up

Which Cursor statistics are safe to cite?

Use a statistic only when its definition matches the sentence you want to write.

  • For a customer-base claim, cite Cursor’s 40,000-plus customers in August 2024.

  • For a broad company-described user reach claim, cite Cursor’s January 2025 “millions of programmers” language and retain its undefined scope.

  • For paid adoption, cite the February 2026 1 million paid-subscriber report as an Anysphere claim reported by Consumer Tech Wire.

  • For daily activity, cite the more than 1 million daily active users figure as a Cursor claim reported by CNBC.

  • For workplace survey adoption, use JetBrains’ 18% result and name its population of more than 10,000 professional developers worldwide.

  • For revenue momentum, distinguish the company’s reported $500 million-plus ARR and $1 billion-plus annualized revenue from TechCrunch’s reported $2 billion-plus run rate and Sacra’s $4 billion estimate.

  • For transaction status, cite the SEC’s August 14, 2026 merger completion filing, not an earlier report of financing talks.

No first-party Quash data covers Cursor users, growth, funding, or adoption. The missing public measure is a consistently defined global total-user count with an activity period and population. Until Cursor publishes one, no external roundup can reliably derive it from customers, subscribers, enterprise accounts, or survey responses.

Methodology and definitions

This report prioritizes Cursor’s own announcements for company milestones, SEC filings for the SpaceX transaction, and original survey owners for developer-adoption results. Journalism is used where direct company material was not available, and analyst figures remain labeled as estimates.

The following definitions keep the data comparable enough to cite without making it falsely uniform:

  • Customer: an account or customer organization as reported by the company; it is not automatically an individual user.

  • Paid subscriber: a paying subscriber; it is not a global total-user or daily-active-user count.

  • Daily active user: a user active during a day. It measures activity, not everyone registered or subscribed.

  • ARR, recurring revenue, and annualized revenue: run-rate measures. They should not be presented as audited revenue recognized during a completed year.

  • Survey adoption or awareness: a percentage within a named respondent sample and survey period, not global market share.

  • Funding, valuation, and acquisition consideration: distinct financial measures. An announced valuation is not cash raised, and acquisition consideration is not a financing round.

Conclusion

Cursor’s 2026 story is substantial without needing a made-up single user number. The evidence supports claims of rapid reported revenue growth, meaningful paid and daily activity measures, large developer awareness, major funding rounds, and a completed SpaceX acquisition.

For your next citation, choose the metric that answers your actual question—and keep its date, population, and evidence type attached. That decision is what turns a Cursor statistic from a headline into usable evidence.